Skip to main content

Lamson Library


Open today:  
(full hours)

Grant Research

Info for grant-seekers, both individuals and organizations, online and in print

Grant Research Sources

Grant Research Sources

Lamson Library’s Grant Research Center is a part of the Foundation Center’s Funding Information Network.  The Foundation Center is a nonprofit service organization with headquarters in New York. Our collection is made possible in part through a grant from the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation. As of July 2018, there is no other Funding Information Network partner in New Hampshire.  You may check here to find all locations that are part of the Funding Information Network.

The print resources in our Grant Research Center are located on the Main Level of Lamson Library, between the Information Desk and the Reference Desk. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance. Located with the Grant Research Center print Reference sources will be copies of a bibliography entitled “Selected Materials on Grantwriting and Fund Raising From Our Circulating Collection” which will list a number of books that give tips on writing successful grant proposals and related topics. These may be borrowed directly from Lamson Library or through your local library via interlibrary loan.

Return to the Table of Contents

Foundation Center

Foundation Center
http://foundationcenter.org/

The Foundation Center is an independent nonprofit information clearinghouse whose mission is “To strengthen the social sector by advancing knowledge about philanthropy in the U.S. and around the world”. Established in 1956, the Foundation Center is the leading source of information about philanthropy worldwide. The Foundation Center maintains the most comprehensive database on U.S. and global grantmakers and their grants — a robust, accessible knowledge bank for the sector. It also operates research, education, and training programs designed to advance knowledge of philanthropy at every level.

Check the website of the Foundation Center for a wide variety of information about the Foundation Center and its services, including links to other nonprofit resources. Also on the Foundation Center’s website, from the drop-down menu under “Find Funding” is 990 Finder, a database of IRS 990 and 990-PF forms for private foundations and nonprofit organizations from all states. (Also see section below about 990 and 990-PF forms.)

The Foundation Center also maintains a companion website, GrantSpace, which they term “Foundation Center’s learning community for the social sector”. On GrantSpace you will find a variety of fee-based and free courses, webinars, and self-paced online learning opportunities, such as the free self-paced online courses Introduction to Finding Grants Online and Introduction to Proposal Writing Online. Also on GrantSpace are many recorded webinars, such as Introduction to Finding Grants and Introduction to Proposal Writing.

Return to the Table of Contents

Foundation Center FAQs: Top 12 Questions

Foundation Directory Online (FDO)

Foundation Directory Online (FDO)
http://foundationcenter.org/products/foundation-directory-online

Foundation Directory Online (FDO) is the premier grantseeking database on the Web. It includes profiles of over 140,000 foundations, corporate donors, and grantmaking public charities, with descriptions of over 9 million recent grants. Users may also search over 1 million IRS 990 and 990-PF forms. FDO is the only place to find past giving information on the 90 per cent of U.S. foundations that don’t have websites.

Using FDO is the most efficient way to generate a prospect list of potential funders, since it allows you to specify and combine various criteria, such as the subject area (e.g. Health), type of support (e.g. General/operating support), and geographic area (e.g. New Hampshire or United States). The website of the Foundation Center (see link above) provides more information about FDO.

Lamson Library provides free public access only within the library building to the FDO database from the Foundation Center. Users with a PSU computer account may access FDO from any networked computer within the library. Non-PSU users should use the dedicated computer at the Reference Desk. From the Library Home Page, click the “Library Databases” button (just under the basic catalog search box), then select “Foundation Directory Online”. Note: FDO is not available over the wireless network.

To use FDO at Lamson Library, please contact Gary McCool, Coordinator of Public Services, in advance, to arrange for a personal orientation session. Please email Gary at gmccool[at]plymouth[dot]edu or call 603-525-2457.

For organizations that are some distance from a Funding Information Network site (like PSU) where there is free public access to FDO, it should be noted that it is possible to subscribe to FDO. The cost of an individual subscription to the full “Professional” version of FDO that we have at Lamson would be $199.99 per month – though there are some per month savings if you subscribe for a year and make a single annual payment.

Two other databases from the Foundation Center are also available within Lamson Library: Foundation Grants to Individuals Online and Foundation Maps. Information on these databases is listed below.

Return to the Table of Contents

Finding IRS 990 and 990-PF Forms on the Web

Finding IRS 990 and 990-PF Forms on the WEB

Each year, private foundations must file Form 990-PF with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). These forms provide valuable financial information about each foundation, and list grants made in the past year. Another IRS form, the 990, is required to be filed by nonprofit organizations that are exempt from Federal income taxes and whose annual receipts are “normally” more than $25,000 a year. The Foundation Center, from its Web site, now provides 990 Finder, which is a searchable database allowing the public to find both 990 and 990-PF forms for organizations and foundations. GuideStar is another searchable database which gives anyone free Web access to 990-PF forms on private foundations. Free sign up is required to view the 990-PF form. The GuideStar site also has other information for nonprofits, grantmakers, and donors.

Return to the Table of Contents

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online

Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
https://gtionline.foundationcenter.org/search/

Most of the more than 140,000 foundations included in the Foundation Directory Online database do NOT give grants to individuals. The Foundation Grants to Individuals Online database includes nearly 10,000 foundations and public charities that WILL give grants to individuals, such as grants to support graduate education.

Now you can quickly search through detailed descriptions of these foundations and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grantseekers. This unique online database —the only one devoted exclusively to the needs of individuals— is convenient and easy to use! Within seconds you can generate your own list of prospective funders.

Users with a PSU computer account may access Foundation Grants to Individuals Online from any networked computer within the library. Non-PSU users should use the dedicated computer at the Reference Desk. From the Library Home Page, mouse over “Databases” at the left, click on “Databases by Title”, then select “Foundation Grants to Individuals Online”. Note: This database is not available over the wireless network

Return to the Table of Contents

Foundation Maps

Foundation Maps
http://foundationcenter.org/gain-knowledge/foundation-maps

Foundation Maps is Foundation Center’s new data visualization platform that brings to life data about U.S. and global philanthropy through extensive mapping, charting, and analytic capabilities. With this new interactive mapping tool you can see who is funding what and where. Foundation Maps allows you to display grantmaker, grant recipient, and grants data using maps, charts, and lists.

Lamson Library provides public access only within the library building to the Foundation Maps database from the Foundation Center. Users with a PSU computer account may access Foundation Maps from any networked computer within the library. Non-PSU users should use the dedicated computer at the Reference Desk. From the Library Home Page, mouse over “Databases” at the left, click on “Databases by Title”, then select “Foundation Maps”. Note: This database is not available over the wireless network.

Return to the Table of Contents

Resources for Individual Grantseekers

Directory of Charitable Trusts in New Hampshire

Directory of Charitable Funds in New Hampshire

Alphabetical List: https://www.doj.nh.gov/charitable-trusts/documents/directory-alphabetical.pdf
Geographical Index: https://www.doj.nh.gov/charitable-trusts/documents/directory-geographical.pdf
Alphabetical Listing with Purpose indicated: https://www.doj.nh.gov/charitable-trusts/documents/directory-purpose.pdf

This directory is produced by the NH Department of Justice, Charitable Trusts Unit. It is “an alphabetical listing of those grant-making organizations registered with the New Hampshire Attorney General, with assets of over $25,000.” According to the purpose statement on this Web site, this Directory is “intended primarily to assist New Hampshire residents and organizations to locate and utilize the charitable funds established for their benefit by fellow citizens, corporations and benefactors”. The Directory is online in PDF format, with no electronic search option.

See below for an older print directory of New Hampshire foundations (and non-NH foundations giving to nonprofits in NH).

Return to the Table of Contents

New Hampshire Directory of Foundations, 2007-08

New Hampshire Directory of Foundations, 2007-08

Sadly, there is not an up-to-date searchable directory of foundations in New Hampshire. The Vermont-based CPG Enterprises did produce a print New Hampshire Directory of Foundations from 2001 until the 5th and last edition for 2007-08. This publication “lists all foundations incorporated in New Hampshire plus foundations incorporated elsewhere with giving or guidelines that include New Hampshire. Information includes: names, addresses, phone and other contact information; assets and typical grant ranges; application guidelines; areas of interest; restrictions and limitations; lists of recent New Hampshire grantees”. Lamson Library has a copy of this last edition with the Grant Resource Center books at Grant HV98.N4 N48. We keep this older edition to use its Subject Index of NH Foundations and Non-NH Foundations. The Vermont Directory of Foundations, which was formerly produced by CPG Enterprises is now available online as the result of a partnership between the Vermont Community Foundation and the Foundation Center. The Vermont Directory of Foundations Online may be searched for free.

Return to the Table of Contents

New Hampshire Center for Nonprofits

New Hampshire Center for Nonprofits
https://www.nhnonprofits.org/

While this resource is not strictly devoted to grant research, it is a valuable contact for nonprofit organizations in New Hampshire. The New Hampshire Center for Nonprofits (NHCN), formerly the Granite State Association of Nonprofits (GSAN), “is a statewide association with more than 600 nonprofit, corporate, and individual members. The Center offers a wide range of leadership, management, and technical skill building educational programs, advanced seminars, and peer learning circles to the entire sector”. The Center “acts as a catalyst and a convener on important issues which impact the nonprofit sector. It also works to unify the sector offering a yearly Nonprofit Leadership Summit and other statewide and regional networking and collaborating events.” NHCN monitors public policy on issues affecting nonprofits, makes sure NH nonprofits are recognized, provides a network of peers, offers solutions to problems confronting nonprofits today, and provides informational programs and services to help nonprofits look forward to the future.

Return to the Table of Contents

Grants.gov

Grants.gov
https://www.grants.gov/

A website from the federal government that began in October, 2003, this site will allow those seeking federal grants to browse for funding from the 26 federal grant-making agencies. Grants.gov is a storehouse of information on over 1,000 grant programs and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards. Users can browse through a list of grant topic areas, such as Arts, Education, Health, and Natural Resources. Clicking on a topic leads the user to a list detailing which federal agencies provide grants within each topic area. The site also includes an electronic “Apply for Grants” feature that provides a simple, unified application form. Since Nov. 7, 2003, all federal agencies are required to post announcements of available grants in a standard format on Grants.gov. Users of the Grants.gov portal will also be able to sign up for e-mail alerts that will notify them when grant competitions have opened.

Return to the Table of Contents

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
http://www.cfda.gov/

The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance is “a government-wide compendium of Federal programs, projects, services, and activities that provide assistance or benefits to the American public”. It provides detailed descriptions for over 2,200 Federal assistance programs.

Return to the Table of Contents

The Chronicle of Philanthropy

The Chronicle of Philanthropy
https://www.philanthropy.com/

The major newspaper of the non-profit world is The Chronicle of Philanthropy. Published every other week, it is, in its own words, “the No. 1 news source for nonprofit leaders, fund raisers, grant makers, and other people involved in the philanthropic enterprise”. However, some of this material is only available to Chronicle subscribers. Full information on how to subscribe is on the Chronicle’s Web site. Plymouth State students, faculty, and staff can access full text articles from The Chronicle of Philanthropy via the Academic Search Premier database (connecting from the Lamson Library Website). PSU authorized users may also browse issues of this periodical by clicking on the “Journal Titles” tab at the top of the Library Website, then typing the journal title in the box, and then clicking on the Academic Search Premier link on the next screen.

Return to the Table of Contents

Grant Writing Tips

Grant Writing Tips
http://www.nh.gov/nharts/grants/basics/writingtips.htm

The New Hampshire State Council on the Arts provides a number of links to information on grantwriting, from such organizations as the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, The Foundation Center, and Guidestar.

Return to the Table of Contents

Resources Compiled By