Skip to main content

Lamson Library


Open today:  
(full hours)

ME 1100: Music Education

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints

You can't make a convincing argument unless you discuss all sides of an issue and then show why your point of view is the one others should adopt.  Opposing points of view will be those that take a stand for or against something.

The easiest way to get opposing viewpoints is from the Opposing Viewpoints database, but you could also get opposing viewpoints by reading newspaper articles, encyclopedia entries, or other basic introductions to the topic.

Again, now that you've focused the topic, you can look for more information in the basic database sources:

 

  • Contains hundreds of expert reports on current events, society, and world affairs.
     
  • More than 15,000 articles • Thousands of tables and graphs • More than 5,000 new photographs • Hundreds of new illustrations, videos, and maps • Merriam-Webster dictionary and thesaurus
  • New York Times 1980-present
    Comprehensive coverage of The New York Times from 1980 to today.

  • Vast collection of resources including laws and legal info, past and present news, journals, and company data.
     
  • Reliable online reference information from hundreds of encyclopedias and other publications spanning all subject areas.
     
  • Up-to-date full text access to 26 national and regional U.S. news publications.
     
  • Cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Has selective full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text transcripts are also included from CBS Evening News, CNN, Fox News, Face the Nation (CBS), 48 Hours (CBS), 60 Minutes (CBS), All Things Considered (National Public Radio), and others
     
  • Invaluable resource for current issues and controversies such as: capital punishment, gun control, climate change, genetic engineering, terrorism. Contains thousands of pro/con essays, court cases, magazine and peer-reviewed articles.