The Michael J. Spinelli, Jr. Center for University Archives and Special Collections collects, organizes, preserves and makes accessible material in many formats relating to the history of Plymouth State University, the North Country and Lakes Region of New Hampshire, and other rare and historic items in support of the mission and curriculum of the university and to serve as a cultural resource for the region.
The Michael J. Spinelli Jr. Center for University Archives and Special Collections is located on the upper level of the Herbert H. Lamson Library at Plymouth State University. The Spinelli Room is open by appointment only. We will make an effort to inform service desks if we will not be available during regular hours. If you come to the library without an appointment, but would like to use Special Collections/Archives material, go to the Reference Desk for assistance.
The books in the Spinelli Room are cataloged, and findable in Lamson’s online catalog. Some archival material is available online through our digital collections, but much of the material comprising the Special Collections and University Archives is not yet findable online, but is available for use in consultation with staff.
Material in Archives/Special Collections DOES NOT circulate. Material must be used in the Spinelli Room under the supervision of staff. This is one reason that it is helpful if people make appointments ahead of time, so that we can retrieve the material and bring it to the Spinelli Room.
People coming to the Spinelli Room to do research will be asked to leave their packs, purses, coats, etc. outside the room. Pencils only are to be used, and will be provided.
If you would like to make an appointment to use the archives/special collections, or have questions about the collections, please contact: Alice Staples, Archives/Special Collections Librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org or 603-535-2961) or Susan Jarosz, Archives Assistant (email@example.com or 603-535-3084).
The Michael J. Spinelli, Jr. Center for University Archives and Special Collections was established in 2006, through the generosity of Michael J. Spinelli, Jr., Plymouth State College class of 1968. In addition to the records of the institution, collections include the George H. Browne Robert Frost Collection, Brown Company Photograph Collection, Ernest L. Silver Pedagogy Collection, the McGoldrick Collection of Arctic Images, and more.