Skip to main content

Lamson Library


Open today:  
(full hours)

First Year Seminar and Critical Thinking

Unit #5: Scholarship is a Conversation

 Unit #5: Scholarship is a Conversation

After completing this page, you should be able to:

  • Explain the meaning of the phrase, “Scholarship is a conversation”
  • Find books and journals in the library collection—both print and electronic versions
  • Request books or journal articles using inter-library loan
  • Find the source of a citation from a book or journal bibliography 
  • Complete Assignment #5
Image result for building on the shoulders of giants

 

 

Research/Writing Class Outline

Research/Writing Class Outline

  1. Library Criminal Justice Subject Guide
  2. Video Research 101: Scholarship is a Conversation
  3. Searching the Online Catalog: eBooks
  4. Searching Sage Journals Online Database
  5. Interlibrary Loan
  6. Finding a Reference to Another Study from a Bibliography
  7. In-Class Worksheet: 
  8. Review "Writing Assignment #5."

11/2 Research 101: Scholarship is a Conversation

Eisen, A. (2014, June 13). Research 101: Scholarship is a conversation [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/YGia3gNyHDM

Library Home Page Overview

11/4 Sage Journals Online Database

Sage Journals Online

Many of the best Criminal Justice journals are published by Sage.  In some cases, this is the only database that will located them.

Try finding articles for your topic here.

11/3 Searching the Online Catalog: eBooks

The presentation lasts 60 seconds.

11/6 Finding a Reference to Another Study from a Bibliography

Finding a Journal Article from a Bibliographic Citation

11/5 Interlibrary Loan

The library can get just about any book or article you might want.  Don't ever pay for an article online; we can get it for you.  Watch this 1 minute video to see how.

11/7 In-Class Exercise

Using Databases to Find Research Articles

 

  1. Use the Sage Journals Online database to find an article for your final project.
  2. Use the library catalog to find a print book relating to your final project.
  3. Use the library catalog to find an eBook relating to your final project.
  4. Register for an Interlibrary Loan account.

Scholarship is a Conversation

Communicate.  Ask Questions.

Scholarship as Conversation

Communities of scholars, researchers, or professionals engage in sustained discourse with new insights and discoveries occurring over time as a result of varied perspectives and interpretations.

Research in scholarly and professional fields is a discursive practice in which ideas are formulated, debated, and weighed against one another over extended periods of time. Instead of seeking discrete answers to complex problems, experts understand that a given issue may be characterized by several competing perspectives as part of an ongoing conversation in which information users and creators come together and negotiate meaning. Experts understand that, while some topics have established answers through this process, a query may not have a single uncontested answer. Experts are therefore inclined to seek out many perspectives, not merely the ones with which they are familiar.

 

Association of College and Research Libraries. (2016, January 11). Framework for information literacy for higher education. Retrieved http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/issues/infolit/Framework_ILHE.pdf

Elements of a Bibliographic Citation

Drag and drop these elements of a bibliographic citation to their appropriate category below.

Annati, M. (2015). Providing less-lethal add-on capabilities to traditional weapons. Military Technology, 39(11), 54-56.

Author
Date
Volume Number
Pages
Article Title
Journal Title
Issue Number
Annati, M.
(2015)
39
54-56
Providing Less...
Military Technology
(11)