Contents:
Reading Results
Academic Search Premier is Lamson Library’s primary electronic periodical index. It provides abstracts and articles from nearly 8,500 scholarly and popular publications covering a wide variety of academic disciplines. More than 7,300 of these journals are peer-reviewed. Over half of the articles are available in FULL TEXT. As such, this database is the recommended starting point for most searches for periodical articles.
Reading results of an Academic Search Premier search and locating articles and documents:
Click on each article title to see the abstract. Or, you can get a preview of the article by moving your mouse over the icon of a magnifying glass on a page (at the end of the title of the article). A link will indicate whether the full text of the article is available electronically. The full text may be either in HTML or PDF (or both). If the full text is in HTML, the full text begins below the full record and abstract. If the full text is in PDF, you will get a scanned-in image, just as though you had photocopied the article.
There is help available from the database to convert citations to a particular citation style, such as APA or MLA. Click on the title of the article to see the full record. Then click on the fourth icon from the left, just above the title of the article. (When you move your mouse over this icon, it will indicate “Cite”.) A new window will display 6 citation styles, and also provide a link to export to EndNote. You may then copy and paste the citation into your draft bibliography. Careful; not all capitalization may be correct. For example, in APA style, only the first word (or any proper noun) in an article title is capitalized. Also, all APA references are double-spaced.
Even when it appears no electronic full text of an article is available, there is still a possibility of a link to full text from our online catalog record for the journal. Look for the link saying “Lamson Library subscribes to this journal, click here for availability”. This indicates we have physical copies of some years of the journal. Clicking this link will open up a page from the library catalog to show you what we own for this journal (and in what format). If we have access to electronic full text issues, there will be a link at the top of this catalog record. Otherwise, paper issues of journals are shelved on the Main Level, alphabetically by the title of the journal. Microfiche and microfilm issues are in Room 028 on the Lower Level. Staff at the central Information Desk can assist you in finding fiche or microfilm. Free paper copies may be made.
Screencast Tutorial
If you see the phrase “For availability, check journal title in online catalog”, we do not have any physical copies of this journal. However, to make sure that full text articles are not available in some other database, I would recommend you go to the Library Home Page, click on “Journal List” at the left, and type the name of the journal in the box. This will tell you whether we have any physical copies of the journal, and whether articles are available in full text electronically in any of our databases or directly from the publisher.
If we don’t own the journal, you may request the article on Interlibrary Loan. Click the “Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)” link in the left frame of the Library Home Page.

