| Anthropology & Sociology | Health, Adventure Education |
- New: EBSCOhost iPhone/iPod Touch Application Click the link at the bottom of any EBSCOhost page to email yourself the download instructions, access key and a link to the app store.
- Databases Arranged by Title
- Databases on Trial (Let us know what you think.)
Anthropology & Sociology
Top Choices
- Academic Search Premier [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
Special Topics
- America: History and Life (links to full-text)
- American History in Video [INFO and Video Tutorial]
- Contemporary Women’s Issues (all full-text) [INFO]
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [INFO]
- DailyLife/World Cultures Online
- Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
Art, Art History, Graphic Art
Top Choices
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Art Full Text (HW Wilson) [INFO]
- ARTstor (digital works of art) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
Special Topics
- Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
Business & Economics
Top Choices
- Business Source Premier (many full-text) [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- MarketLine Advantage: Company information by name, industry, location, or subject (formerly Datamonitor 360)
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- Regional Business News (many full-text) [INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Wall Street Journal 1984-present
Special Topics
- Proquest National Newspapers Premier including the N.Y. Times, Boston Globe, L.A. Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and over 40 other papers
- Research Starters – Business [INFO]
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference E-books) [INFO]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [INFO]
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Union Leader/NH Sunday News (all full-text) [INFO]
- Value Line Investment Survey (on-campus access online)
| |
Communication Studies
Top Choices
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (many full-text) [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (index and abstracts only) [INFO]
- MLA Directory of Periodicals [INFO]
- MLA International Bibliography (index only) [INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
Special Topics
- PsycARTICLES (select index; all full-text) [INFO]
- PsycINFO (huge index; links to full-text) [INFO]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
Computer Science
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Dissertation Abstracts Online
- FirstSearch (Ask at Reference Desk for password) [INFO]
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference E-books) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) (via Web of Knowledge
- SciFinder: First time? Register with your PSU email address, or login to SciFinder. Please note: Due to the nature of SciFinder, it is not currently available from off campus.
Criminal Justice
Top Choices
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts(links to full-text)[INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- CQ Researcher (all full-text) [INFO]
- Military & Government Collection (many full-text) [INFO]
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (all full-text) [INFO]
- Proquest National Newspapers Premier including the N.Y. Times, Boston Globe, L.A. Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and over 40 other papers
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [INFO]
- PsycARTICLES (select index; all full-text) [INFO]
- PsycINFO (huge index; links to full-text) [INFO]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
Education & Childhood Studies
Top Journal Database Choices
- ERIC (links to full-text) [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
More Journal Database Choices
- PsycARTICLES (select index; all full-text) [INFO]
- PsycINFO (huge index; links to full-text) [INFO]
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [INFO]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
Lesson Plans
- Kraus K-12 Curriculum Guides (many full-text) [INFO]
- Teacher Reference Center (links to full-text) [INFO]
Children’s Literature
- Children’s Core Collection [INFO]
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database [INFO]
- Middle & Junior High Core Collection [INFO]
- Senior High Core Collection [INFO]
Testing
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (all full-text) [INFO] (merged with Tests in Print)
- Tests in Print, from EBSCO (merged with Mental Measurements Yearbook)
- Primary Search (for elementary schools; many full-text) [INFO]
English
Top Choices
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference E-books) [INFO]
- Literature Criticism Online
- MLA International Bibliography (index only) [INFO]
- MLA Directory of Periodicals [INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (all full-text) [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (many full-text) [INFO]
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (index and abstracts only) [INFO]
- Salem Press Literature [INFO]
Special Topics
- Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry [INFO]
- Dissertation Abstracts Online
- Essay & General Literature (HW Wilson) (index only)
- Google Books (previews and full-text of some books)
- Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (some full-text) [INFO]
- World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
General Topics, News, Information
Newspapers
- The Chronicle of Higher Education
- New York Times 1980-present
- New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-2006 (all full-text) [INFO]
- Newspaper Source (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Proquest National Newspapers Premier including the N.Y. Times, Boston Globe, L.A. Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and over 40 other papers
- Regional Business News (many full-text) [INFO]
- Union Leader/NH Sunday News (all full-text) [INFO]
- Wall Street Journal 1984-present
Opinion, Background, Point of View, etc…
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (all full-text) [INFO]
- CQ Researcher (all full-text) [INFO]
Magazines, Journals, etc…
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
Specialized Databases
- CollegeSource Online (on campus access only) [INFO]
- Dissertation Abstracts Online
- Foundation Directory Online (library computers only)
- Foundation Grants To Individuals Online (on campus access only) [INFO]
Reference Books Online
- Credo reference (all full-text) [INFO]
- Encyclopaedia Britannica (all full-text) [INFO]
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [INFO]
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference E-books) [INFO]
- Google Books (previews and full-text of some books)
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (all full-text) [INFO]
Geography & Tourism
Top Choices
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
Special Topics
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) (via Web of Knowledge)
- America: History and Life (links to full-text)
- American History in Video [INFO and Video Tutorial]
- ARTstor (digital works of art) [INFO]
- Business Source Premier (many full-text) [INFO]
- CultureGrams (all full-text) [INFO]
- DailyLife/World Cultures Online
- Regional Business News (many full-text) [INFO]
- Research Starters – Business [INFO]
- SciFinder: First time? Register with your PSU email address, or login to SciFinder. Please note: Due to the nature of SciFinder, it is not currently available from off campus.
Health, Adventure Education
Top Choices
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- CINAHL with Full Text [INFO]
- OregonPDF in Health & Performance (many full-text) [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- ERIC (links to full-text) [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic (many full-text) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- MEDLINE (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (all full-text) [INFO]
- PubMed (links to full-text) [INFO]
Special Topics
- Kraus K-12 Curriculum Guides (many full-text) [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- PsycARTICLES (select index; all full-text) [INFO]
- PsycINFO (huge index; links to full-text) [INFO]
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [INFO]
History & Political Science
Top Choices
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- America: History and Life (links to full-text)
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- American History in Video [INFO and Video Tutorial]
- Europa World Year Book
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Military & Government Collection (many full-text) [INFO]
- CQ Researcher (all full-text) [INFO]
- DailyLife/World Cultures Online
- Google Books (previews and full-text of some books)
- Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
- New York Times 1980-present
- New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-2006 (all full-text) [INFO]
- Newspaper Source (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Proquest National Newspapers Premier including the N.Y. Times, Boston Globe, L.A. Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, and over 40 other papers
- Union Leader/NH Sunday News (all full-text) [INFO]
Languages & Linguistics
Top Choices
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (many full-text) [INFO]
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (index and abstracts only) [INFO]
- Literature Criticism Online
- MLA Directory of Periodicals [INFO]
- MLA International Bibliography (index only) [INFO]
- SCOLA (Including Insta-Class, On the Street Videos, People and Places, Foreign Text and International Radio)
- SCOLA (Including World TV Online)
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (all full-text) [INFO]
- Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
Special Topics
- CultureGrams (all full-text) [INFO]
- DailyLife/World Cultures Online
- Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
Law & Government
Top Choices
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts(links to full-text)[INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
Special Topics
- America: History and Life (links to full-text)
- American History in Video [INFO and Video Tutorial]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Military & Government Collection (many full-text) [INFO]
Library & Bibliographic
- Library Literature & Information Science (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Google Books (previews and full-text of some books)
- Children’s Core Collection [INFO]
- Middle & Junior High Core Collection [INFO]
- Senior High Core Collection [INFO]
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database [INFO]
Mathematics
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) (via Web of Knowledge)
- SciFinder: First time? Register with your PSU email address, or login to SciFinder. Please note: Due to the nature of SciFinder, it is not currently available from off campus.
Music, Theater, & Dance
Top Choices
- Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- Naxos Music Library [Video Tutorial]
- Naxos Music Library – Jazz [Video Tutorial]
- Naxos Spoken Word Library [Info]
- Naxos Video Library [Video Tutorial]
- IPA Source - International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts
- Art Full Text (HW Wilson) [INFO]
- ARTstor (digital works of art) [INFO]
- Literature Criticism Online
- MLA Directory of Periodicals [INFO]
- MLA International Bibliography (index only) [INFO]
- OregonPDF in Health & Performance (many full-text) [INFO]
Psychology
Top Choices
- PsycARTICLES (select index; all full-text) [INFO]
- PsycINFO (huge index; links to full-text) [INFO]
Other Databases to Consider
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- CINAHL with Full Text [INFO]
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [INFO]
- MEDLINE (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (all full-text) [INFO] (merged with Tests in Print)
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- PubMed (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Tests in Print, from EBSCO (merged with Mental Measurements Yearbook)
Philosophy
Top Choices
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
Other Choices
- Art & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Humanities Full Text (HW Wilson)
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
Sciences
Top Choices
- Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) (via Web of Knowledge)
- SciFinder: First time? Register with your PSU email address, or login to SciFinder. Please note: SciFinder is not currently available from off campus.
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Climatological Data Publications NOAA
Special Topics
- Dissertation Abstracts Online
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic (many full-text) [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- PubMed (links to full-text) [INFO]
Social Work
Top Choices
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) (via Web of Knowledge)
- Counseling and Therapy in Video [INFO]
- Sage Journals Online [INFO]
- Social Sciences Full Text (HW Wilson)
- SocINDEX with Full Text (mostly full-text) [INFO]
Special Topics
- CINAHL with Full Text [INFO]
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic (many full-text) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V (full-text backfiles) [INFO] [Tutorial]
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts(links to full-text)[INFO]
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context (all full-text) [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- PsycARTICLES (select index; all full-text) [INFO]
- PsycINFO (huge index; links to full-text) [INFO]
- PubMed (links to full-text) [INFO]



