The University Academics Admission & Aid Athletics Campus Life Events Library

eReference Books

Direct Links (Descriptions are below):


College Source Online


College Source Online


An online library representing 44,815 college catalogs and over 37,600,000 course descriptions.  Full cover-to-cover, original page format with 2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional, and international schools.


Credo Reference


Credo reference (all full-text) [INFO]


Credo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to a selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law as well as the sciences. At present this database includes over 3 million entries from 377 reference titles. Typically these sources include shorter, more concise entries than the reference sources in Gale Virtual Reference Library or Literature Criticism Online.


Encyclopaedia Britannica


Encyclopaedia Britannica (all full-text) [INFO]

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, World Data Analyst, and more. You can also use Encyclopaedia Britannica Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 300,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors. Through this service, you can find more than 118,000 articles, updated and revised by EB editors and contributors; over 14,000 illustrations, including photographs, drawings, maps, and flags; and more than 215,000 entries including definitions, pronunciation guides, and word histories. In addition to searching by word, or using an online index, you can also browse through these sections: A-Z Article Browse, Subject Browse, Year in Review Browse, and Biographies. In addition there are these “Research Tools” that can be searched separately: Video Collection, Timelines, World Data Analyst, Compare Countries, World Atlas, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics. Advanced search and navigation capabilities and the power of the Internet make the Encyclopaedia Britannica Online an invaluable reference and research tool.


Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia


Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [INFO]

The Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics. The database contains various images, and offers brief biographies as well as information in a variety of subject areas. This database is updated annually.


Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)


Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference E-books) [INFO]

Gale Virtual Reference Library offers you an online collection of premier reference eBooks. You can search a single eBook or across an entire eBook collection.

Arts
History of the American Cinema Vol. 8, 2001
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers 4th ed., 4v, 2001
Biography
Contemporary Musicians Vol. 61, 2008
Contemporary Musicians Vol. 62, 2008
Contemporary Musicians Vol. 63, 2008
Contemporary Musicians Vol. 64, 2008
Contemporary Musicians Vol. 65, 2009
Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives, Thematic Series: The 1960s 2v, 2003
Business
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 13, 2008
Business Plans Handbook Vol. 14, 2008
Encyclopedia of American Industries 5th ed., 2008
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance 2v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Business and Finance, 2nd ed. 2nd ed., 2v, 2007
Encyclopedia of Global Industries, 4th ed. 4th ed., 2007
Encyclopedia of Small Business 3rd ed., 2v, 2007
Encyclopedia of Small Business 2nd ed., 2v, 2002
Gale E-Commerce Sourcebook 2v, 2003
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 86, 2007
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 87, 2007
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 88, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 89, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 90, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 91, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 92, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 93, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 94, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 95, 2008
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 96, 2009
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 97, 2009
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 98, 2009
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 99, 2009
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 100, 2009
International Directory of Company Histories Vol. 101, 2009
Manufacturing Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies 5th ed., 3v, 2009
Education
The College Blue Book 36th ed., 6v, 2009
The College Blue Book 35th ed., 6v, 2008
World Education Encyclopedia 2nd ed., 3v, 2001
Environment
Beacham’s Guide to the Endangered Species of North America 6v, 2000
Environmental Encyclopedia 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia 2nd ed., 17v, 2004
Pollution A to Z 2v, 2004
Weather Almanac 11th ed., 2004
History
American Decades 10v, 2001
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History 5v, 2005
Dictionary of American History 3rd ed., 10v, 2003
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy 2nd ed., 3v, 2002
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy 2nd ed., 3v, 2002
Encyclopedia of American Immigration 4v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion 3v, 2005
Encyclopedia of European Social History 6v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture 3v, 2003
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia 6v, 2002
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression 2v, 2004
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History 2v, 1999
Gale Encyclopedia of the Unusual and Unexplained 3v, 2003
History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide 6v, 2001
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas 6v, 2005
Presidents: A Reference History 3rd ed., 2002
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture 5v, 2000
Information and Publishing
World Press Encyclopedia 2nd ed., 2v, 2003
Law Hide publications
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 2nd ed., 4v, 2002
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution 2nd ed., 6v, 2000
National Survey of State Laws 5th ed., 2005
Literature
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present 2nd ed., 4v, 2000
Contemporary Novelists 7th ed., 2001
Contemporary Poets 7th ed., 2001
Drama for Students Vol. 1, 1998
Drama for Students Vol. 2, 1998
Drama for Students Vol. 3, 1998
Drama for Students Vol. 4, 1998
Drama for Students Vol. 5, 1999
Drama for Students Vol. 6, 1999
Drama for Students Vol. 7, 2000
Drama for Students Vol. 8, 2000
Drama for Students Vol. 9, 2000
Drama for Students Vol. 10, 2001
Drama for Students Vol. 11, 2001
Drama for Students Vol. 12, 2001
Drama for Students Vol. 13, 2001
Drama for Students Vol. 14, 2002
Drama for Students Vol. 15, 2002
Drama for Students Vol. 16, 2003
Drama for Students Vol. 17, 2003
Drama for Students Vol. 18, 2003
Drama for Students Vol. 19, 2004
Drama for Students Vol. 20, 2005
Drama for Students Vol. 21, 2005
Drama for Students Vol. 22, 2006
Drama for Students Vol. 23, 2006
Drama for Students Vol. 24, 2007
Drama for Students Vol. 25, 2008
Drama for Students Vol. 26, 2009
Modern American Literature 5th ed., 3v, 1999
Novels for Students Vol. 1, 1997
Novels for Students Vol. 2, 1997
Novels for Students Vol. 3, 1998
Novels for Students Vol. 4, 1998
Novels for Students Vol. 5, 1999
Novels for Students Vol. 6, 1999
Novels for Students Vol. 7, 1999
Novels for Students Vol. 8, 2000
Novels for Students Vol. 9, 2000
Novels for Students Vol. 10, 2001
Novels for Students Vol. 11, 2001
Novels for Students Vol. 12, 2001
Novels for Students Vol. 13, 2002
Novels for Students Vol. 14, 2002
Novels for Students Vol. 15, 2002
Novels for Students Vol. 16, 2002
Novels for Students Vol. 17, 2003
Novels for Students Vol. 18, 2003
Novels for Students Vol. 19, 2004
Novels for Students Vol. 20, 2005
Novels for Students Vol. 21, 2005
Novels for Students Vol. 22, 2006
Novels for Students Vol. 23, 2006
Novels for Students Vol. 24, 2007
Novels for Students Vol. 25, 2007
Novels for Students Vol. 26, 2008
Novels for Students Vol. 27, 2008
Novels for Students Vol. 28, 2009
Novels for Students Vol. 29, 2009
Poetry for Students Vol. 1, 1998
Poetry for Students Vol. 2, 1998
Poetry for Students Vol. 3, 1998
Poetry for Students Vol. 4, 1999
Poetry for Students Vol. 5, 1999
Poetry for Students Vol. 6, 1999
Poetry for Students Vol. 7, 2000
Poetry for Students Vol. 8, 2000
Poetry for Students Vol. 9, 2000
Poetry for Students Vol. 10, 2001
Poetry for Students Vol. 11, 2001
Poetry for Students Vol. 12, 2001
Poetry for Students Vol. 13, 2001
Poetry for Students Vol. 14, 2002
Poetry for Students Vol. 15, 2002
Poetry for Students Vol. 16, 2002
Poetry for Students Vol. 17, 2003
Poetry for Students Vol. 18, 2003
Poetry for Students Vol. 19, 2004
Poetry for Students Vol. 20, 2004
Poetry for Students Vol. 21, 2005
Poetry for Students Vol. 22, 2005
Poetry for Students Vol. 23, 2006
Poetry for Students Vol. 24, 2006
Poetry for Students Vol. 25, 2007
Poetry for Students Vol. 26, 2007
Poetry for Students Vol. 27, 2008
Poetry for Students Vol. 28, 2008
Poetry for Students Vol. 29, 2009
Reference Guide to World Literature 3rd ed., 2v, 2003
Shakespeare for Students, 2nd ed. 2nd ed., 3v, 2007
Short Stories for Students Vol. 1, 1997
Short Stories for Students Vol. 2, 1997
Short Stories for Students Vol. 3, 1998
Short Stories for Students Vol. 4, 1998
Short Stories for Students Vol. 5, 1999
Short Stories for Students Vol. 6, 1999
Short Stories for Students Vol. 7, 2000
Short Stories for Students Vol. 8, 2000
Short Stories for Students Vol. 9, 2000
Short Stories for Students Vol. 10, 2000
Short Stories for Students Vol. 11, 2001
Short Stories for Students Vol. 12, 2001
Short Stories for Students Vol. 13, 2001
Short Stories for Students Vol. 14, 2002
Short Stories for Students Vol. 15, 2002
Short Stories for Students Vol. 16, 2002
Short Stories for Students Vol. 17, 2003
Short Stories for Students Vol. 18, 2003
Short Stories for Students Vol. 19, 2004
Short Stories for Students Vol. 20, 2005
Short Stories for Students Vol. 21, 2005
Short Stories for Students Vol. 22, 2006
Short Stories for Students Vol. 23, 2006
Short Stories for Students Vol. 24, 2007
Short Stories for Students Vol. 25, 2007
Short Stories for Students Vol. 26, 2008
Short Stories for Students Vol. 27, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 176, 2007
Something About the Author Vol. 177, 2007
Something About the Author Vol. 178, 2007
Something About the Author Vol. 179, 2007
Something About the Author Vol. 180, 2007
Something About the Author Vol. 181, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 182, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 183, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 184, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 185, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 186, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 187, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 188, 2008
Something About the Author Vol. 189, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 190, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 191, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 192, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 193, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 194, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 195, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 196, 2009
Something About the Author Vol. 197, 2009
The Writers Directory 2009 24th ed., 2v, 2008
Medicine
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior 2nd ed., 4v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Public Health 4v, 2002
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders 2v, 2002
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders 2v, 2003
Multicultural Studies Hide publications
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History 2nd ed., 6v, 2006
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America 2nd ed., 3v, 2000
Nation and World Hide publications
Geo-Data: The World Geographical Encyclopedia 3rd ed., 2003
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies 4v, 2002
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations 12th ed., 5v, 2007
Religion Hide publications
Contemporary American Religion 2v, 1999
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World 2v, 2004
Encyclopedia of Philosophy 2nd ed., 10v, 2006
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion 2v, 2003
New Catholic Encyclopedia 2nd ed., 15v, 2003
New Catholic Encyclopedia Jubilee Volume 2nd ed., 2000
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices 3v, 2006
Science
Computer Sciences 4v, 2002
Gale Encyclopedia of Science 3rd ed., 6v, 2004
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy 3v, 2001
Science and Its Times: Understanding the Social Significance of Scientific Discovery 8v, 2001
World of Earth Science 2v, 2003
World of Forensic Science 2v, 2005
Social Science
Child Development 2002
Encyclopedia of Bioethics 3rd ed., 5v, 2004
Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society 3v, 2004
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information 3v, 2002
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice 2nd ed., 4v, 2002
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior 2v, 2004
Encyclopedia of Human Development 3v, 2006
Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology 5th ed., 2v, 2001
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America 2005
Encyclopedia of Sociology 2nd ed., 5v, 2001
Encyclopedia of War and American Society 3v, 2005
Extremist Groups: Information for Students 2v, 2006
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology 2nd ed., 2001
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family 2nd ed., 4v, 2003
Psychologists and Their Theories for Students 2v, 2005


Literature Criticism Online


Literature Criticism Online (all full-text) [INFO]

Gale takes literature, history and culture to the next level with its most extensive curated compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Only this collection brings together 10 of the most acclaimed literary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Plus, it matches the familiar look and feel of the print originals.

[Guided Tour]

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism®
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism®
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism®
  • Shakespearean Criticism
  • Literature Criticism from 1400-1800
  • Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism
  • Drama Criticism
  • Children’s Literature Review


Oxford English Dictionary (OED)


Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (all full-text) [INFO]

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Post a Comment or Send a Message

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please make my comment private!

Please note: Lamson Library serves the Plymouth State University community. We do not sell the books in our collection.

Comments should show a courteous regard for the presence of other voices in the discussion. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments that do not adhere to this standard.