Arts & Sciences Collections I through V
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, IV, and V include full-text articles from 625 core journals, encompassing many disciplines. Details on each individual collection are given below.
Video Tutorial
Full Description
The JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Collection includes full-text articles from the complete back runs of 119 journal titles in fifteen disciplines. The collection of online full-text material includes many of the core research and society published journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences. This collection also includes a selection of titles in the more science-oriented fields of ecology, mathematics, and statistics. The Arts & Sciences II Collection is home to 124 titles. This adds depth to Arts & Sciences I and also offers core journals in several new disciplines, such as archaeology, African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies. The Arts & Sciences III Collection contains 150 additional titles. It adds titles in language and literature, as well as important titles in music, film studies, folklore, religion and art history. The Arts & Sciences IV Collection includes 112 titles. It has a strong focus on the professions of business, education, and law, and also includes titles in psychology and public policy & administration. The Arts & Sciences Collection V includes full-text articles from 120 journals. It builds on previously introduced disciplines, adding important literary reviews and state historical journals. It will also widen the scope of core disciplines in the arts and humanities, such as philosophy, history, classics, religion, art and art history, and language and literature.
By agreement between JSTOR and journal publishers, the most recent issues of journals are “embargoed” or not available in the JSTOR database for a fixed time period, usually from 2 to 5 years. (In the description of the journal, this embargo period is listed as a “Moving Wall”.) When searching for content from this embargoed period, try searching the Project MUSE database.
Journal articles in JSTOR are provided in high-resolution, full image PDF versions. Dates of the back runs of journals varies by title, but in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Collection, the oldest journal goes back to 1838. Recent issues of journals not available in this database may be in one of the other databases available through Lamson Library. Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
A browsable title list by subject is available online.
How do I use JSTOR?
Searching: Enter basic and advanced searches of keywords, topics, titles, authors and dates by clicking on “Search JSTOR” and typing information about your search requirements. Perform cross-disciplinary searches by selecting several journals in one search. Detailed tips on how to make the best of the JSTOR search engine are available at http://www.jstor.org/help/search.html.
Browsing: Find journal issues and articles by clicking on “Browse,” and then the name, volume or issue of the journal that interests you.
Printing: JSTOR uses high-resolution images to store, display, and print faithful replications of the pages that make up the complete published record of the journals in its archive. Although there are many advantages to using images (see Why Images?), it is not possible to print out articles simply by using the “Print” button in an internet browser. JSTOR offers .pdf versions of articles for printing and downloading, though the high-quality images often make these files very large. Please be patient while they download and print.
Linking: Link to articles in the JSTOR archive. Use our Make-a-link tools to create stable, reliable URLs. For more information, visit http://makealink.jstor.org/.
Q: Where do I go for help with JSTOR? Throughout the JSTOR system, context-sensitive help files are available by selecting the “Help” button on the navigational tool bar.
Q: Why doesn’t JSTOR include current journal issues? JSTOR’s agreements with publishers include an updating provision referred to as a “moving wall.” The purpose of the moving wall is to ensure that participants can rely on JSTOR to be the trusted archive for the journal archives, while also giving publishers protection from the threat of lost revenues if recent issues were available in the database. It is not JSTOR’s intention to motivate subscribers, whether they be libraries or individuals, to cancel their subscriptions because recent issues are available in JSTOR. The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR.
Q: Why isn’t it possible to cut and paste text from articles in JSTOR? As journals are scanned, both an image file and an ASCII [text] file are created. What you see is a scanned image, which is a perfect replica of the original journal page. The ASCII file is not displayed, but is used only to facilitate full-text searching. In converting millions of pages of information, it is not feasible to bring the quality level of the ASCII text up to a standard acceptable for display. For a more detailed discussion of this topic, please consult “Why Images?” at http://www.jstor.org/about/images.html.

