Looking for databases by subject? Look here for databases on demo, and tell us if you think we should add them to our permanent collection.
- Academic Search Premier (many full-text) All subjects. [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- America: History and Life(links to full-text)
- ARTstor (digital works of art) [INFO]
- Business Source Premier (many full-text) [INFO]
- Children’s Core Collection [INFO]
- Children’s Literature Comprehensive Database [INFO]
- The Chronicle of Higher Education
- Clinical Pharmacology [INFO]
- CollegeSource Online (on campus access only) [INFO]
- Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry [INFO]
- Communication & Mass Media Complete (many full-text) [INFO]
- Contemporary Women’s Issues (all full-text) [INFO]
- CQ Researcher (all full-text) [INFO]
- Credo reference (all full-text) [INFO]
- CultureGrams (all full-text) [INFO]
- EBSCO Animals (all full-text) [INFO]
- Encyclopaedia Britannica (all full-text) [INFO]
- ERIC (links to full-text) [INFO and SLIDECAST TUTORIAL]
- Film Literature Index (index only)
- FirstSearch (Ask at Reference Desk for password) [INFO]
- FirstSearch journal titles list
- Foundation Directory Online (library building access only)
- Foundation Grants To Individuals Online (on campus access only) [INFO]
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia [INFO]
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Reference E-books) [INFO]
- GreenFILE
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic (many full-text) [INFO]
- Humanities International Index (many full-text) [INFO]
- In the First Person (index only) [INFO]
- ITER:Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (some full-text) [INFO]
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences Collections I, II, III, and IV (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- Kraus K-12 Curriculum Guides (many full-text) [INFO]
- LexisNexis Academic (business/law/reference; all full-text) [INFO]
- LexisNexis Environmental (many full-text) [INFO]
- Library Literature & Information Science (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (index and abstracts only) [INFO]
- Literature Criticism Online
- MAS Ultra–School Edition (for high schools; many full-text) [INFO]
- MEDLINE (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Mental Measurements Yearbook (all full-text) [INFO]
- Mergent Online (all full-text)
- Middle & Junior High Core Collection [INFO]
- Military & Government Collection (many full-text) [INFO]
- MLA Directory of Periodicals [INFO]
- MLA International Bibliography (index only) [INFO]
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts(links to full-text)[INFO]
- Naxos Music Library (music listening service)
- Note: many users are reporting problems with this database — being asked for a subscriber name & password. The problem is intermittent, and we are working with the vendor on a solution.
- New York Times 1980-present
- New York Times Digital Archive, 1851-2004 (all full-text) [INFO]
- Newspaper Source (mostly full-text) [INFO]
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (all full-text) [INFO]
- OregonPDF in Health & Performance (many full-text) [INFO]
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (all full-text) [INFO]
- Primary Search (for elementary schools; many full-text) [INFO]
- Project MUSE (Basic Research Collection) (full-text backfiles) [INFO]
- PsycARTICLES (select index; all full-text) [INFO]
- PsycINFO (huge index; links to full-text) [INFO]
- PubMed (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Regional Business News (many full-text) [INFO]
- Senior High Core Collection [INFO]
- SPORTDiscus (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Teacher Reference Center (links to full-text) [INFO]
- Union Leader/NH Sunday News (all full-text) [INFO]
- Wall Street Journal 1984-present
- Web of Knowledge [INFO]
- WorldCat
- World History Collection (all full-text) [INFO]


14 Comments
@bill kietzman:
Mergent Online was offline last time I tested it. Is this the correct URL?
http://www.mergentonline.com/
Any thoughts?
Do we no longer have our Databases By Subject list? This was very useful in the BU2290 powerpoint presentation (among many other classes) displaying Lexis-Nexis, NetAdvantage, CMMC, & Regional Business News, etc. BTW, I see that Regional Business News is missing from the above alpha-list.
@Lissa Zinfon:
You might demonstrate using a keyword search on business, which brings up the subject guide and its list of databases as the top result.
You can also browse resources by discipline (or subject) and limit those results to internet-accessible resources like databases.
Regional Business News has been added to the list.
In response to above, yes, I am aware of various ways to do this, all of which involve extra clicks & search methodology for students. Our initial list made this much more efficiently and immediately accessible. I now have to eliminate that slide from my OC PowerPoint. OC instructors found this info extremely useful for the class. Thanks for adding RBN to the alpha list.
The link to “Literature criticism online” on the Databases list doesn’t seem to be working. You might delete the final ampersand in the URL. The link in LOLA, minus the final ampersand, does work.
Web of Science is no longer listed? Is that a mistake?
Web of Science is part of our subscription to the Web of Knowledge. Once you select Web of Knowledge, you can search Web of Science.
All the Ebscohost links are bringing me to a list of Ebsco databases, not to the specific database that I linked from.
Attempting to search ARTstor from the reference desk generates a Java error. Made sure Java was enabled, but error persists. Same on other machines? Thanks.
@Ray Palin:
ARTstor is working on my machine from home, so I suspect it’s a problem with the machines on campus. Though it could have also been a problem with the database provider.
Superbe
When trying to access the databases from off-campus, I am stopped by a screen asking for my name, bar code, and PIN. I always make sure to go to the library tab from the myPlymouth portal. Any thoughts?
@Jeremy:
Please try connecting without first going to myPlymouth. Certain browsers seem to error out if you first go to myPlymouth.