Note: This electronic index is Lamson Library’s primary multi-subject electronic periodical index. As such, this database is the recommended starting point for most searches for periodical articles.
Academic Search Premier provides indexing and abstracts for articles from over 8,000 scholarly and popular journals (of which over 6,800 are peer-reviewed). Full text articles are provided from over 4,600 periodicals, covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Academic Search Premier is the world’s largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions. With the most valuable and most numerous collection of peer-reviewed full text journals, Academic Search Premier offers critical information from many sources found in no other database. Years covered varies by journal, but goes back as far as 1965. Updated daily.
Reading results of an Academic Search Premier search and locating articles:
Click on each article title to see the abstract. A link will indicate whether the full text of the article is available electronically. The full text may be either in HTML or PDF (or both). If the full text is in HTML, the full text begins below the full record and abstract. If the full text is in PDF, you will get a scanned-in image, just as though you had photocopied the article. Allow enough time for the computer to load the PDF. (And, to print a PDF article, don’t use the “Print” command under the File Menu; rather, click the “printer” icon at the top of the PDF frame.)
If the article is not available electronically in full text, but we have physical holdings of some years of the journal in the library, there will be a link saying “Lamson Library subscribes to this journal, click here for availability”. Clicking this will open up a page from the library catalog to show you what we own for this journal (and in what format). Note that there is sometimes a link from the catalog record to an electronic version of the article, so be sure to click “Lamson Library subscribes”. Paper issues of journals are shelved on the Main Level, alphabetically by the title of the journal. Microfiche and microfilm issues are in Room 028 on the Lower Level. Staff at the central Information Desk can assist you in finding fiche or microfilm. Free paper copies may be made.
If we don’t own the journal, you may request the article on Interlibrary Loan. To do this, click the “Document Delivery (ILL)” link at the left.

