The University Academics Admission & Aid Athletics Campus Life Events Library

ERIC

Click to connect to ERIC database.

Tutorial Slidecast

Usage Notes


Note: Advantage of using the EBSCOhost connection to ERIC database is that citations to journal articles will indicate whether full text is available in another database.

The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC), an information system sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, provides access to research articles, reports, curriculum guides, and other documents covering a broad range of education-related issues at all levels, from pre-school to post graduate. The ERIC database is the world’s largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. It includes citations and abstracts from over 1000 scholarly and professional education journals, and a series of several hundred thousand system-supplied documents on microfiche in one searchable database. ERIC documents include presentations at professional conferences, curriculum guides from school districts, lesson plans and units of study, and much more. The EBSCOhost version of the ERIC database also provides a searchable online version of the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors, so appropriate search terms can be identified. Coverage back to 1966. Updated monthly. See below for reading results of an ERIC search and locating articles. (Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.)

Reading results of an ERIC search and locating articles and documents:

Your ERIC search results will include journal articles (with an EJ and number at the end of the citation) and ERIC documents (with an ED and number at the end of the citation). Click on the title of each item to see the abstract. Though no full text articles are available on the ERIC database, if the article is available in full text from another database (or directly from the online journal), there will be a link under the citation. If the article is not available electronically in full text, but we have physical holdings of some years of the journal in the library, there will be a link saying “Lamson Library subscribes to this journal, click here for availability”. Clicking this will open up a page from the library catalog to show you what we own for this journal (and in what format). Paper issues of journals are shelved on the Main Level, alphabetically by the title of the journal. Microfiche and microfilm issues are in Room 028 on the Lower Level. Staff at the central Information Desk can assist you in finding fiche or microfilm. Free paper copies may be made.

If we don’t own the journal, you may request the article on Interlibrary Loan. Click the Document Delivery/Interlibrary Loan link in the left frame of the Library Home Page.

ERIC documents from 1993 to present MAY be available in full text online. If there is no link to an ERIC document (ED# at end of citation) saying “Full text from ERIC”, we have all the ERIC documents on microfiche from 1966 – 2004 in Lamson Library, in Room 028 on the Lower Level. Staff at the central Information Desk can assist you in finding and making copies of this ERIC microfiche.

Post a Comment or Send a Message

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please make my comment private!

Please note: Lamson Library serves the Plymouth State University community. We do not sell the books in our collection.

Comments should show a courteous regard for the presence of other voices in the discussion. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments that do not adhere to this standard.