The University Academics Admission & Aid Athletics Campus Life Events Library

FirstSearch

Click to connect

FirstSearch (from the Online College Library Center — OCLC) is an online information system made up of over 70 separately-searchable databases that together give you access to over 10 million online full-text articles from 9,000 journals, and full-image articles from over 4,000 electronic journals. In addition, FirstSearch includes access to WorldCat, the worlds largest database of library holdings (currently over 57 million records), enabling the searcher to find citations to books, films, computer software, conference proceedings, and other media in a wide range of academic subject areas. This is a more advanced searching system, requiring some knowledge of Boolean logic in constructing effective search statements. Requires authorization code and password from Librarian or Instructor, since there is a small cost for each search term entered. Each database also provides a choice of retrieval options, such as electronic Interlibrary Loan requests (free to PSU students, faculty, and staff), or fee-based options such as fax or e-mail. Contact Reference Desk for username and password.

scrib:format=Internet

Post a Comment or Send a Message

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*
Please make my comment private!

Please note: Lamson Library serves the Plymouth State University community. We do not sell the books in our collection.

Comments should show a courteous regard for the presence of other voices in the discussion. We reserve the right to edit or delete comments that do not adhere to this standard.