Tourism in New Hampshire

Image from beyondbrownpaper.plymouth.edu

Citing Your Work

Easily create, manage, and save your citations with EasyBib

Popular vs Scholarly

Website Evaluator

Decide if a website you find is credible using Research Ready's Website Evaluator

Books & Ebooks

Books in our Catalog
Newest e- and print books in this subject area. Call numbers for geography include:
G - geography (general), atlases, maps
GA - Mathematical geography, cartography
GB - Physical geography
GC - Oceanography
GE - Environmental Geography
GF - Human ecology, anthropogeography

Ebook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 ebooks from academic, scholarly publishers in most subject areas. Ebooks can be viewed in your browser by unlimited library patrons.
Accessing Ebooks: a Guide
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Online reference books, including encyclopedias and other publications spanning most subject areas.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Provides access ranging from snippets to full text for upwards of 30 million books.

Databases

Find journal articles in one of these databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
The library's primary scholarly database. Contains over 18,400 journals, over 16,300 of which are peer-reviewed, and over 8,900 are full text.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Search from over 9,900 journals meeting DOAJ scholarly criteria, totaling over 1.5 million articles. 'Open Access' means freely available to libraries and researchers.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Has indexing for 1,600+ journals (1,430 peer-reviewed) from as far back as 1910.
Project MUSE (Basic Collection) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences.
All journals are available up to the most recent issue. For earlier data ranges, see JSTOR Arts & Sciences. Available to alumni.
Search Tutorial Series
See also: JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to about 800 core journals spanning most subject areas. Specializes in recent, but not newest issues. For the latest issues, see Project MUSE.
Search tutorial
See also: Project MUSE

Government Tourism Data

Government Sources for Travel Data

The U.S. transportation satellite accounts (TSAs) [the links are below] show a detailed picture of transportation services and their role in the U.S. economy. These accounts were jointly developed by the Industry Economic Accounts (IEA) and by the Bureau of Transportation Statistics in the U.S. Department of Transportation in order to more accurately measure the contribution of transportation activities to the U.S. economy.

Note: Just type TRAVEL into the search box if one is available. If you don't see a search box, just scroll down to the TRAVEL link on any of these pages.

BEA: Travel and tourism data files
The industry economic accounts, presented both in an input-output framework and as annual output by each industry, provide a detailed view of the interrelationships between U.S. producers and users and the contribution to production across industries. These accounts are used extensively by policymakers and businesses to understand industry interactions, productivity trends, and the changing structure of the U.S. economy.
ITA: Office of Travel & Tourism Industries
The goal of the Office of Travel & Tourism Industries (OTTI) is to enhance the international competitiveness of the U.S. travel and tourism industry and increase its exports, thereby creating U.S. employment and economic growth.
Survey of Current Business
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
BEA is an agency of the Department of Commerce. Along with the Census Bureau and STAT-USA, BEA is part of the Department's Economics and Statistics Administration.

BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disse
U.S. Travel and Tourism Satellite Accounts for 2004–2009
By Steven L. Zemanek and Stanislaw J. Rzeznik: "The travel and tourism industry--as measured by the real output of goods and services sold directly to visitors--declined 4.7 percent in 2009 after declining 3.1 percent in 2008, according to the most recent statistics from the travel and tourism satellite accounts of the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). [first paragraph]
U.S. Travel and Tourism Satellite Accounts for 2007–2010
By Steven L. Zemanek: "The travel and tourism industry--as measured by real output of goods and services sold directly to visitors--increased 3.1 percent in 2010 after decreasing 9.2 percent in 2009, according to the most recent statistics from the travel and tourism satellite accounts of the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). [first paragraph]

Profile

Alice Staples

Email Me

Contact:

Room 212a, Lamson Library upper level, behind the Harry Potter door.

535-2961