Week 7: Writing/Research #3

Week 7: Writing/Research #3:

After competing this page, you should be able to:

Explain the meaning of the phrase “Searching is Strategic”
Identify bibliographic citations as referring to a book, a section of a book, a magazine, a journal article, a newspaper article, or a website.
Explain the general subject content, differences, and usefulness of the EBSCOhost databases: Academic Search Premier, PsyINFO, SOCIndex with Full Text, and Social Sciences with Full Text
Locate and efficiently search these EBSCOhost databases
Give a friend an informed "tour" of what can be found on the library website
Cite a journal article in the correct APA format
Complete Writing Assignment #3

Research/Writing Class Outline

Library Home Page / Criminal Justice Subject Guide
Video: "Research 101: Searching Is Strategic"
Searching as Strategic Exploration
EbscoHOST: Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, SOCIndex with Full-Text, Social Sciences with Full-Text
EBSCOhost: Advanced Searching
APA: Journal Citations
In-Class Worksheet: "Types of Information Sources"
Writing Assignment #3

7/7 In-Class Worksheet: "Types of Information Sources"

Types of Information Sources: In-Class Worksheet

This exercise asks you to look at a number of information sources and find how and why the information was collected. Some sources are more difficult than others, but knowing to look for these clues will help you select the best information sources for your research.

Types of Information Sources

Specialized Databases

Military & Government Collection

Current news pertaining to all branches of the military through periodicals, academic journals, and other content. Over 400 journals, 250 of which are full text.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts

This collection offers summaries of important law enforcement and criminal justice publications including books, government reports, research reports, journals and unpublished research. It serves as a valuable research tool for criminal justice professionals, researchers and policymakers.

Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Elements of a Bibliographic Citation

Drag and drop these elements of a bibliographic citation to their appropriate category below.

Annati, M. (2015). Providing less-lethal add-on capabilities to traditional weapons. Military Technology, 39(11), 54-56.

Author

Date

Volume Number

Pages

Article Title

Journal Title

Issue Number

Annati, M.

(2015)

54-56

Providing Less...

Military Technology

(11)

7/1 Library Home Page / Criminal Justice Subject Guide

Library Criminal Justice Subject Guide

To get to the Library Criminal Justice Subject Guide, Select "Criminal Justice" from the drop-down menu under Guided Search from the library home page.

Library Home Page

CJ Subject Guide

All of the resources covered this semester will be found on this course guide. You'll be using these resources in all of your Criminal Justice classes.

Library Home Page Overview

7/2 Video: "Research 101: Searching Is Strategic"

Eisen, A. (2014, June 13). Research 101: Searching is strategic [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/4CHKYaJkuO0

7/5 EBSCOhost: Advanced Searching

7/4 EbscoHOST: Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO, SOCIndex with Full-Text, Social Sciences with Full-Text.

The EBSCOhost Databases for Criminal Justice

You need to know where to find these databases on the library website. You must be able to search these databases with ease and skill. Try searching your topics in each of these.

Academic Search Premier

The library's primary scholarly database. Contains over 13,600 journals, mostly peer-reviewed. Over 4,700 journals are full text.

PsycINFO

This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.

SocINDEX with Full Text

This database (pronounced S◌̄sh Index-like the "ot" in notion) is the world's most comprehensive and highest-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of extremely useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study. The database features millions of records with subject headings from a sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers.

Social Sciences Full Text

Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.

7/8 Assignment #3

Searching for Government Documents

USA.gov links to publicly available websites that are:

-government-owned or government sponsored, unless directed not to by the agency that owns the site. Acceptable federal government-owned or government-sponsored website domains include .gov, .mil and .fed.us.
-quasi-government agencies and websites created by public sector/private sector partnerships;
-state and local government sites (e.g., www.maryland.gov);
-some government-sponsored websites that end in .com, .org, or .net (e.g., www.usps.com for the U.S. Postal Service and www.ncfy.com/clear.htm for the National Clearinghouses and Resource Centers on Families and Youth).
-not government-owned or government-sponsored if these websites provide government information and/or services in a way that is not available on an official government website.

How to Cite a Government Document

Citing Government Publications

In general, treat a government document like a book with a corporate author:

Country. Department, Office. (Date). Title. (Report No.). Retrieved from [URL].

Examples:

The guiding principle should be helping the reader find the source.

7/3 Searching as Strategic Exploration

Plan. Explore.

Searching as Strategic Exploration

Searching for information is often nonlinear and iterative, requiring the evaluation of a range of information sources and the mental flexibility to pursue alternate avenues as new understanding develops.

The act of searching often begins with a question that directs the act of finding needed information. Encompassing inquiry, discovery, and serendipity, searching identifies both possible relevant sources as well as the means to access those sources. Experts realize that information searching is a contextualized, complex experience that affects, and is affected by, the cognitive, affective, and social dimensions of the searcher. Novice learners may search a limited set of resources, while experts may search more broadly and deeply to determine the most appropriate information within the project scope. Likewise, novice learners tend to use few search strategies, while experts select from various search strategies, depending on the sources, scope, and context of the information need.

Association of College and Research Libraries. (2016, January 11). Framework for information literacy for higher education. Retrieved http://www.ala.org/acrl/sites/ala.org.acrl/files/content/issues/infolit/Framework_ILHE.pdf

7/6 APA: Journal Citations

EasyBib

How to Cite a Journal Article in APA

Citing a journal article found online (in a database or elsewhere)

Structure:

Author, F.M. (Publication year). Article Title. Periodical Title, Volume(Issue), pp.-pp. doi:XX.XXXXX or Retrieved from journal URL

Note: Database information and retrieval date are not required in APA journal article citations.

Example:
Trier, J. (2007). “Cool” engagements with YouTube: Part 2. Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy, 50(7), 598-603. doi:10.1598/JAAL.50.7.8
Note: If no DOI is listed, use the periodical’s homepage URL (e.g., Retrieved from http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/journal/10.1002/(ISSN)1936-2706).

Citing a journal article found in print

Structure:

Author, F.M., Author F.M., & Author F.M. (Publication year). Article Title. Periodical Title, Volume(Issue), pp.-pp.

[su_spacer]

Example:

Lin, M.G., Hoffman, E.S., & Borengasser, C. (2013). Is social media too social for class? A case study of Twitter use. Tech Trends, 57(2), 39-45.