Skip to main content

Lamson Library


Open today:  
(full hours)

Music, Theatre, and Dance

Databases for Theatre Research

Databases

In addition to the databases listed on the Music, Theatre, & Dance page, try these databases aimed solely at singers.

Periodicals for Theatre Arts

Periodicals

American Theatre

American Theatre magazine is the nation’s only general-circulation magazine devoted to theatre. Founded in 1984 by the pioneering arts service organization Theatre Communications Group, the magazine featured cowboy-hatted playwright Sam Shepard on its first cover in April of that year. Published 10 times a year, the magazine now has an estimated readership of 50,000, mostly within the theatre profession.

Canadian Theatre Review

Canadian Theatre Review is the major magazine of record for Canadian theatre. It is committed to excellence in the critical analysis and innovative coverage of current developments in Canadian theatre, to advocating new issues and artists, and to publishing at least one significant new playscript per issue. The editorial board is committed to CTR's practice of theme issues that present multi-faceted and in-depth examinations of the emerging issues of the day and to expanding the practice of criticism in Canadian theatre and to the development of new voices.

The Dramatist

The Dramatist is the official journal of the Dramatists Guild of America, Inc. It is published bi-monthly and is the only national magazine devoted to the business and craft of writing for the theatre. 

Modern Drama

Modern Drama was founded in 1958 and is the most prominent journal in English to focus on dramatic literature. The terms "modern" and "drama" are the subject of continuing and fruitful debate, but the journal has been distinguished by the excellence of its close readings of both canonical and lesser-known dramatic texts from a range of methodological perspectives. The journal features refereed articles written from a variety of geo-political points of view which enhance our understanding, both formal and historical, of the dramatic literature of the past two centuries; there is also an extensive book review section.

Performing Arts Journal

PAJ was founded in 1976 by Bonnie Marranca and Gautam Dasgupta to publish important, original works in the field of the arts and the thoughtful critical thinking about them, to initiate new areas of scholarship and forms of critical commentary, to provide an ongoing discourse between art, artists, and the public.

Playbill On-Line

Anyone who has been in an American commercial theater is familiar with the Playbill program, which provides the cast, the number of acts, intermissions, and background on the play.  The coverage in the web site is not dramatically different, except that it is all in one place, and therefore a very useful tool for planning for visits to New York city.  (Magazines for Libraries)
 

Stage Directions

Stage Directions covers theater for people who make it. Whether onstage or off, backstage or front of house, we give you the information you need to improve your craft.

 

TDR (The Drama Review)

TDR provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic and political contexts. With an emphasis on the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural and interdisciplinary, it covers dance theatre, performance art, popular entertainment, media, sports, rituals and performance in politics and everyday life.

Theater

Theater, an international journal of criticism, plays, and reporting on contemporary performance, is edited by the Yale School of Drama/Yale Repertory Theatre and published three times a year by Duke University Press. To subscribe or view the publication’s complete archives online, visit www.dukeupress.edu/theater.
 

Theatre Journal

For six decades, Theatre Journal's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as one of the most authoritative and useful publications of theatre studies available today. Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Theatre Journal is an official publication of the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE).

   

 

Theatre Arts eBooks

Theatre Arts eBooks

These are just of few of the ebooks available in full text online.  There are several thousand print books available on these subjects in the library.

Boleslavsky, Richard. Acting: The First Six Lessons. New York: Routledge, 1949. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 

Bordman, Gerald Martin. American Musical Theatre: A Chronicle. Oxford: Oxford UP, 2001. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 

Bordman, Gerald Martin., and Thomas S. Hischak. The Oxford Companion to American Theatre. New York: Oxford UP, 2004. Web. 

Bordman, Gerald Martin. The Oxford Companion to American Theatre. New York: Oxford UP, 2004. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 

Burton, Richard. How to See a Play. New York: Macmillan, 1914. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web.

Friendship, Elizabeth. Pattern Cutting for Men's Costume. London: Methuen Drama, 2008. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 

Glerum, Jay O. Stage Rigging Handbook. 3rd ed. Carbondale: Southern Illinois UP, 1987. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 

Howey, Bill. The Actor's Menu: A Character Preparation Handbook. Lakewood, CO: Compass Pub., 2005. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web.

Literature Criticism Online. Detroit: Gale Cengage Learning, n.d. Literature Criticism Online [Gale]. Web.

Mort, Skip. Stage Lighting: The Technicians' Guide: An On-the-job Reference Tool plus DVD Video Resources. London: Methuen Drama, 2011. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 

Pavis, Patrice. Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis. Toronto: U of Toronto, 1998. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 

Riggs, Thomas. St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture. Detroit: St. James, 2013. Gale Virtual Reference Library [Gale]. Web.

Rush, David. A Student Guide to Play Analysis. Carbondale: Southern Illinois UP, 2005. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web.

Salinsky, Tom, and Deborah Frances-White. The Improv Handbook: The Ultimate Guide to Improvising in Comedy, Theater, and beyond. New York: Continuum, 2008. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web.

Schoenberg, Thomas J., and Lawrence J. Trudeau. Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism. Detroit, MI: Gale, n.d. Literature Criticism Online [Gale]. Web.

Swain, Rob. Directing: A Handbook for Emerging Theatre Directors. London: Methuen Drama, 2011. EBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost). Web.