Skip to main content

Lamson Library


Open today:  
(full hours)

Thesis Guide

Info for master's students planning for, working on, and submitting their theses and dissertations

Thesis Order Form

The final step is ordering your thesis.  Complete the form as instructed below.

Submitting your Thesis

  • Drop off two copies, plus any additional personal copies, of your Dissertation to the Technical Services Department of the Library, located on the upper floor in the Lamson Learning Commons - Room 219. Please call (535-2259) or email Rick Kipphut rjkipphut@plymouth.edu to make an appointment before dropping off your Dissertation/Thesis.
  •  
  • Make sure that all copies are collated and ready to bind. Fasten a copy of the Dissertation Order Form above to the outside of the envelope. Documents that are not properly packaged will not be accepted at the time of submission. A copy of the Order Form will be emailed to your Dissertation/Thesis advisor.
  •  
  • Please include a copy in PDF format on a thumb/flash drive. The PDF copy of your Dissertation/Thesis will be loaded into the ProQuest Digital Archiving and Access Program which will create an electronic copy in Adobe Acrobat PDF for inclusion in Dissertation Abstracts Online database, to which PSU subscribes. Your dissertation will be indexed with controlled vocabulary and subject codes for ease of access and searching in Dissertation Abstracts Online. All licensed users will be able to view a 24-page preview of your dissertation. More important, the full text of your dissertation will be available to everyone within the PSU community.
  •  
  • Please provide a check or money order payable to PSU for your personal copies ($20 per copy). We cannot accept credit or debit cards.  Plymouth State University will cover the cost of two bound copies- one for the Writing Center and the other for Archives.

Open Access Option

The PSU repository, Digital Commons @ Plymouth State University, is where scholarly and artistic works of the faculty and students are collected.  Theses and dissertations are included in the repository, but are accessible only on campus unless the author grants permission to make their thesis or dissertation openly available online.

Some of the benefits of making work openly available are:

~increased awareness and broad dissemination of the work, often resulting in increased citations

~a permanent location for the work, with a stable URL that can be shared on future applications and CVs

~access to statistics on how often the work is viewed and downloaded

In some situations there may be reasons not to make a thesis or dissertation available immediately.  Research that includes personal information of research subjects, a patentable discovery, or is undergoing peer review for journal publication may need to be restricted in some way.  In these cases either an embargo or partial redaction may be appropriate.  More information on these situations as well as restriction options can be found in the FAQs below.

Publishing an openly available copy in the PSU repository is optional.  If you would like to make your thesis or dissertation openly available, please print and sign this permission form available below and return it to Christin Wixson.  This permission form requests a non-exclusive license to publish your work electronically.  That means that you retain all of your copyrights and are free to enter into agreements to publish this work or another version of it elsewhere. 

If you have any questions please contact librarian Christin Wixson via phone (603-535-3032) or email (chwixson (at) plymouth (dot) edu).

FAQs

How is this different than the release I sign on the approval page of my thesis or dissertation?

“I understand that my dissertation will become part of the permanent collection of Plymouth State University, Lamson Learning Commons.  My signature below authorizes release of my dissertation to any reader upon request.” 

The above text, which appears on the approval page, is the permission the library needs in order to make your thesis or dissertation available in print and online within the Plymouth State campus community and outside of it should we receive an interlibrary loan (ILL) request.  This signature is required.

The permission form to make your thesis or dissertation openly available online is entirely optional.  There is no penalty for choosing not to make your work openly available, other than not reaping the benefits described above.

Why might someone want to restrict access to their thesis or dissertation?

The thesis or dissertation contains sensitive information, for example personal details about individuals involved in the research.  If applicable, consult the application and approval of the Institutional Review Board for guidance on what limitations are appropriate. 

The thesis contains a patentable discovery.  To successfully patent an invention, it must not have been previously published or presented.

A journal article based on the thesis or dissertation is currently undergoing or is likely to undergo a peer review process.  Open availability of the work would threaten a blind peer review process.

What are the options for restricting access to my thesis or dissertation? 

Embargo: A publication delay of usually 6 months to 2 years may be appropriate while journal articles derived from a thesis or dissertation are undergoing the peer review process or when a patent application is pending.  Longer embargoes are possible but not encouraged.

Redaction: Removing parts of the thesis or dissertation maybe appropriate in cases where sensitive personal information is involved. 

I am planning to submit an article to a journal based on the work described in my thesis or dissertation.  Will making my thesis or dissertation openly available interfere with this process?

It is not unusual for an author to derive one or more journal articles from the work of their thesis or dissertation in order to share their discoveries in a more succinct way.  You should always be upfront with the journal editor about the relationship between the article and your thesis or dissertation, but generally open access thesis or dissertation publication is not an impediment to journal publication.

Theses/dissertations and journal articles have very different requirements, formats, and audiences.  Because significant edits to sections of a thesis or dissertation are likely in order to produce an article, there is generally not a “self-plagiarism” problem with this practice.  However, one possible concern is that an open access copy of a dissertation, especially one that shares a title with the article, makes it impossible to guarantee a blind peer review process for the article.  If you or your editor have concerns about this, consider placing an embargo on your thesis or dissertation.

Someday I might want to turn my manuscript into a book.  Does this count as previous publication?

As most works undergo significant editing and changes in format before becoming a book, most publishers do not consider an open access copy of a thesis or dissertation an impediment to subsequent publication of a book based that thesis or dissertation.  (2011 Survey of Publishers)

Ok, I’m in, how do I know when my work is available in the repository or what my permanent URL is?

Authors will receive an email containing their URL when their work become available in the repository.  Authors can expect their work to appear in the repository 4-6 weeks after submitting the permission form and digital copy to the library.  If you have concerns about the timeline, please contact librarian Christin Wixson via phone (603-535-3032) or email (chwixson (at) plymouth (dot) edu).