How to find scholarly sources @ Lamson
You can use the Library Catalog and our Databases to find scholarly sources.
Search the Library Catalog 
To find scholarly journal articles, on the Lamson Library website, use the Search Box to find articles a few different ways. You can...
- Select "Articles" above the Search Box before searching to limit results to journal articles
- Limit the results of a search on the left side of the page under "Content Type" to "Peer Reviewed"
- Look for "Peer-reviewed" on items in the results of a search
To find scholarly books, on the Lamson Library website, use the Search Box and select "Books."
- Look for the publisher on items in the results of a search.
- Is it a University Press, academic or professional organization, or academic publisher?
Search Library Databases
On the Lamson Library website, select the green "Library Databases" button right below the Search Box. To choose which database to search in, you can...
- Get quick recommendations: select any of the databases in the Databases for TWP and Comp box on the right
- Get subject specific databases: use the "Subjects" drop-down to select a subject area
- Get journal articles: use the "Database Types" drop-down to select "Journal Articles"
- Get books: use the "Database Types" drop-down to select "Books and eBooks"
Most databases have tools to limit search results to scholarly sources. Look for filters (usually on the left side of the page) to select that say "Peer-reviewed" or "Academic Journals" or "Scholarly Articles."
Use Google Scholar
Google Scholar is easy to search, like regular Google, but it links you to scholarly
sources found in Lamson's catalog and databases, as well as freely available online.
While not every source in Google Scholar is a scholarly source, you can use the Checklist to evaluate what you find.
Remember to access Google Scholar through the Library Databases page or set up PSU as your library to make sure it links to Lamson's sources.