Lamson Library: IS 1115 TWP: Accessibilty of Higher Education: Find Sources

Use this LibGuide to get started with your research for your Tackling a Wicked Problem course on the topic of access to higher education. The first page has suggestions for where you might find several different types of sources for your research topic. The second page has tips for getting the most out of keyword searching and searching the Internet. The last page has information on how to evaluate the sources you find and where to get help when you are ready to cite them.

TWP textbook -->> Tackling Wicked Problems: An OER for Students at PSU

Books

Find books

Browse print books on topics in access to higher education.

Browse ebooks on topics in access to higher education.

For more accurate search results, use keywords related to your specific topic when searching the catalog, databases, or the Internet.

Ebook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 200,000 ebooks from academic, scholarly publishers in most subject areas. Ebooks can be viewed in your browser by unlimited library patrons.
Accessing Ebooks: a Guide

Browse the shelves

Many books on higher education have call numbers starting with LB and LC, located on the Lower Level. Some of the categories are listed below. Please ask at the Information Desk or the Reference Desk on the main level if you need help finding anything.

General topics in higher education: LB 2300-2430
Educational equality and the right to education: LC 213-214.53
Social aspects of education: LC 65-245
Economic aspects of education: LC 65-67.68
Demographic aspects of education: LC 68-70
Discrimination in education: LC 212-212.863
Sex differences in education: LC 212.9-212.93
Higher education and the state: LC 165-182

Librarian

Alissa Helms

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Archives & Special Collections, Art & Design, Art Education K-12, Clinical Mental Health Counseling, Counseling, Marriage & Family Therapy, Music, Music Education, Organizational Leadership, Psychology, School Counseling, School Psychology, Theatre Arts

Find Journal Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
The library's primary scholarly database. Contains over 18,400 journals, over 16,300 of which are peer-reviewed, and over 8,900 are full text.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to about 800 core journals spanning most subject areas. Specializes in recent, but not newest issues. For the latest issues, see Project MUSE.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google's academic search engine that connects you to our library subscriptions.
Setup Scholar for off-campus
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center: Free government repository made searchable through EBSCOhost. Contains 1,240+ journals abstracted plus 1.3 million documents and records all pertaining to education.
APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Invaluable psychology resource containing full text of 110+ journals published by the APA and other psychological organizations.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Sociology database with full text for 860 journals in addition to over 800 books and thousands of conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Abstracts for over 12,000 high impact journals spanning most subject areas. Full text can be sought through Google Scholar or Interlibrary Loan.

Find Statistics

Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions.
College Navigator This link opens in a new window
Searchable information on degrees and programs at colleges and universities throughout the United States.

Data & Statistics -- U.S. Dept. of Education
Federal government research on education in the US, including facts, studies, statistics, and data sets.
Postsecondary Surveys & Programs -- National Center for Educational Statistics (NCES)
Facts and data from surveys, studies, and reports from the NCES, the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
Digest of Education Statstics -- NCES
Latest version of the Digest of Education Statistics which contains a set of tables covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
Postsecondary Education Research and Studies -- New Hampshire Department of Education
State level data collected by the New Hampshire Dept. of Education on higher education and institutions in the state, including reports, research studies, and statistics.
Higher Education General Information Survey (HEGIS) -- ICPSRR
Comprehensive information on various aspects of postsecondary education in the United States and its territories, measured in eight components: Earned Degrees/Completions, Employees, Finance, Residence and Migration, Salaries, Fall Enrollment, Institutional Characteristics, and Libraries.

Find Organizations that Research Higher Education

United States Department of Education
Created in 1980, the Department of Education's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access.
Institute of Education Sciences (IES)
The Institute of Education Sciences (IES) is the independent and non-partisan statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education. It includes the NCES and the NCER.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
UNESCO provides global and regional leadership in education, strengthens education systems worldwide and responds to contemporary global challenges through education with gender equality an underlying principle.
Bureau of Education Statistics -- New Hampshire Department of Education
The Bureau provides support for the identification, collection, management, and analysis of student level and aggregated educational data.
Reaching Higher NH
New Hampshire non-profit focused on public education through policy and community engagement.

News

Find News Sources

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Has selective full text for 375 regional U.S. newspapers. Full text transcripts are also included from CBS Evening News, CNN, Fox News, Face the Nation (CBS), 48 Hours (CBS), 60 Minutes (CBS), All Things Considered (National Public Radio), and others

Access Library Sources

Can't find the full text?

If you've found a great article or book in a database, our catalog, or cited in another source, but you can't seem to find the full text, try the methods below.

Find the Journal

If you have a citation to an article, choose Journals and type the journal title into the library catalog to find out what years of the journal are available at PSU.

Find it in Google Scholar

If you have the citation to an article, search by the title in Google Scholar. Links to full text from PSU or on the Internet will appear to the right side of the results list.

Get it via InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

If you need a book or article that PSU does not have, you can request it through InterLibrary Loan.

This service is free to all PSU students, faculty, and staff.

Go to the InterLibrary Loan Page.
Create Request and choose the material type you want, then fill out the request form.
Alternatively, If you find the source in the catalog, Request Item through Interlibrary Loan under "Access Options" on the right side.
Articles are delivered to your InterLibrary loan account in PDF format, usually in 2-5 business days.
Books are delivered to Lamson and can be picked up at the information desk in 1-2 weeks.