Lamson Library: SW 3500: Health & Society: Books

Gale Virtual Reference Library: Reliable online reference information from hundreds of encyclopedias and other publications spanning all subject areas.

Health Care Systems Around the World
Provides basic information about health care organization and outcomes, organized into 10 categories for 193 countries: emergency health services, insurance, costs of hospitalization, access to health care, cost of drugs, health care facilities, major health issues, health care personnel, government role in health care, and public health programs.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Presents easy-to-understand information on countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Provides accurate, in-depth analysis of each country's economic environment, reliable statistics on the country's current economic conditions and trends and key demographics of the nation's citizens.
World Education Encyclopedia
A reference on education around the world, with each entry providing a history of the country; the constitutional and legal foundations of the education system; an overview of the educational system itself; sections on preprimary, primary, secondary, and higher education; administration, finance, and educational research; the profession of teaching; and a summary.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family
Contains over three hundred alphabetically arranged articles that provide information about issues related to marriage and family, focusing on the diversity of marriage and family lifestyles in fifty countries representative of the regions of the world.