Lamson Library: Atmospheric Science: AMS Journals

Journals on the AMS Website

American Meteorological Society (AMS) Journals Online
- This link opens in a new window
AMS Journals Online features high-impact, peer-reviewed scientific journals, in some cases dating back to the 1800s. Full text of Bulletin of AMS and the journal Earth Interactions is available up through the current issue. For all other publications, full text is available for articles published 12 months ago or earlier.

PSU has full text access to the newest AMS journal articles through Academic Search Premiere. Click on any AMS journal listed below to get access to current journal issues and articles published within the last 12 months.

Create a My EBSCOHost Account

Using a MyEBSCOhost Account

If you created a myEBSCOhost account before June 2017, please see these important instructions.

You have your own account to save (and find again!) those terrific articles you found. You can also save search terms, or create an alert for new articles available with your search terms.

To access your account:

Access an EBSCO database, like Academic Search Premier.
Click the Sign In link in the horizontal green menu along the top of your screen.
A yellow MY will appear on the EBSCOhost logo when you are logged in.
To access previously saved articles and searches, click the Folder link in the horizontal green menu.

Librarian

Christin Wixson

Email Me

Contact:

535-2626

Subjects: Biochemistry, Biology, Cell & Molecular Biology, Chemistry, Curriculum & Instruction, Digital Learning Specialist, Doctor of Education, Educational Leadership (CAGS), English Education, Environmental Sciences, Experiential Learning & Development, Integrated Arts, Interdisciplinary, Library Media, Physical Therapy, Physics, Special Education

AMS Journals

Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society (BAMS) by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 1996-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
The Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society (BAMS) is the flagship magazine of AMS and publishes articles of interest and significance for the weather, water, and climate community as well as news, editorials, and reviews for AMS members.
Earth Interactions by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 1997-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
A journal dealing with the interactions between the lithosphere, atmosphere, and biosphere in the context of global issues or global change.
Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 2006-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
The Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology (JAMC) publishes applied research on meteorology and climatology, including topics such as weather modification, satellite meteorology, radar meteorology, boundary layer processes, physical meteorology, air pollution meteorology, agricultural and forest meteorology, mountain meteorology, applied meteorological numerical models, the use of climate information in impact assessments, dynamical and statistical downscaling, seasonal climate forecast applications and verification, climate risk and vulnerability, development of climate monitoring tools, and urban and local climates.
Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 1997-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
The Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology (JTECH) publishes research describing instrumentation and methods used in atmospheric and oceanic research, including remote sensing instruments; measurements, validation, and data analysis techniques from satellites, aircraft, balloons, and surface-based platforms; in situ instruments, measurements, and methods for data acquisition, analysis, and interpretation and assimilation in numerical models; and information systems and algorithms.
Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 1993-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
The Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences (JAS) publishes basic research related to the physics, dynamics, and chemistry of the atmosphere of Earth and other planets, with emphasis on the quantitative and deductive aspects of the subject.

AMS Journals

Journal of Climate by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 1998-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
The Journal of Climate (JCLI) publishes research that advances basic understanding of the dynamics and physics of the climate system on large spatial scales, including variability of the atmosphere, oceans, land surface, and cryosphere; past, present, and projected future changes in the climate system; and climate simulation and prediction.
Journal of Hydrometeorology by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 2000-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
The Journal of Hydrometeorology (JHM) publishes research on modeling, observing, and forecasting processes related to fluxes and storage of water and energy, including interactions with the boundary layer and lower atmosphere, and processes related to precipitation, radiation, and other meteorological inputs.
Journal of Physical Oceanography by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 2001-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
The Journal of Physical Oceanography (JPO) publishes research related to the physics of the ocean and to processes operating at its boundaries. Observational, theoretical, and modeling studies are included, especially those that focus on elucidating specific physical processes.
Monthly Weather Review by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 1997-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
Monthly Weather Review (MWR) publishes research relevant to the analysis and prediction of observed atmospheric circulations and physics, including technique development, data assimilation, model validation, and relevant case studies. This research includes numerical and data assimilation techniques that apply to the atmosphere and/or ocean environments. MWR also addresses phenomena having seasonal and subseasonal time scales.
Weather and Forecasting by American Meteorological Society
Publication Date: 1998-present
Database: Academic Search Premiere.
Weather and Forecasting (WAF) publishes research that is relevant to operational forecasting. This includes papers on significant weather events, forecasting techniques, forecast verification, model parameterizations, data assimilation, model ensembles, statistical postprocessing techniques, the transfer of research results to the forecasting community, and the societal use and value of forecasts. The scope of WAF includes research relevant to forecast lead times ranging from short-term “nowcasts” through seasonal time scales out to approximately two years.