Lamson Library: Metaliteracy: 1. A Metaliteracy Approach to Your Assignment and Your Education

Facts have a half-life. What you learn in college will be obsolete in fewer than ten years. What you do learn in college is how to think. College can prepare you to be an expert learner.

Source: World Economic Forum: Centre for the New Economy and Society (2018). The future of jobs report: 2018. Geneva, Switzerland: World Economic Forum. Retrieved from: http://www3.weforum.org/docs/WEF_Future_of_Jobs_2018.pdf

Sought After Skills

According to Monster.com, the most sought after skills employers look for are:

Problem solving	Data Analytics	Social Media Literacy
Creativity	Resiliency	Good Business Sense
A Willingness to Learn

Source: Bortz, D. (2019). These 7 job skils can make you more marketable to employers. Retrieved from: https://www.monster.com/career-advice/article/work-skills-2018-1217

Deming, D. (2019, September 20). In the salary race, engineers sprint but English majors endure. New York Times (Online). Business Section. Retrieved from New York Times (Proquest) (Accession No. 2293631717)

student n., |
\ ˈstü-dᵊnt - an attentive and systematic observer

Our senses supply us with Information.
We organize and synthesize that information to create Knowledge.
Years of acquiring and applying knowledge eventually becomes Expertise / Wisdom
No one is born an expert. Expertise requires experience and systematic effort.

Source: Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary. Retrieved from: https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/student

The Half-Life of Facts

Source: Arbeson, S. & Kauffman Foundation (2012). Kauffman Sketchbook 15: The Half-Life of Facts [Sam Arbesman, senior scholar in Research and Policy at the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation] Retrieved from: https://youtu.be/8RMzBGdRpFY

Arbesman, S. (2012). The half-life of facts : Why everything we know has an expiration date. New York, Current.
Lamson Library (Upper Level)Q175.32.E85 A74 2012

Exercise #2 : GVRL [Gale Virtual Reference Library]

GVRL [Gale Virtual Reference Library]. library.plymouth.edu

A bibliography from a reliable source can lead you quickly to more reliable sources.

Go to the library homepage (https://library.plymouth.edu)
Select Databases
Open GVRL [Gale Virtual Reference Library]
Find an article on Autism.
Find and copy the citation (ALA, APA, Chicago...)
Copy one entry from the bibliography
eMail these to yourself
- The citation for the encyclopedia entry
- One citation from the encyclopedia entry's bibliography

Metaliteracy Domains

Metacognition
Cognition
Behavioral
Affective

"Metaliteracy is a comprehensive open learning model that reimagines information literacy for social media environments and online communities in the 21st century. Metaliteracy is a unified framework that promotes critical thinking, participatory learning, and metacognitive reflection as interrelated and ongoing collaborative practices [emphasis added]."

Mackey, T., Jacobson T., Hecker, J., Loney, T, & Allain, N. (2013) Metaliteracy MOOC. Retrieved from:
http://metaliteracy.cdlprojects.com/index.html

Metaliteracy Domains

Source: Metaliteracy Learning Collaborative. The metaliteracy learning domains. [Video]. Retrieved from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7N_DiAfqXM

Metacognition

“reflect and regulate your own learning pathway”
“identify strengths and areas for improvement”

Cognition

“knowledge gained after successfully
completing learning activities”

Behavioral
“what individuals are able to do”
“how you put skills and competencies into practice”

Affective
“emotions and attitudes”
“how you feel about an issue”
“motivation”

Instruction Mission

Sought After Skills

student n., | \ ˈstü-dᵊnt - an attentive and systematic observer

Exercise #2 : GVRL [Gale Virtual Reference Library]

GVRL [Gale Virtual Reference Library]. library.plymouth.edu

Metaliteracy Domains

Metaliteracy Domains

student n., |
\ ˈstü-dᵊnt - an attentive and systematic observer