Why is a Bibliography So Very Important?
Because It Says a Great Deal About You.
A bibliography is so much more than a list of sources. It's the foundation on which your argument rests. It's the scholar's way of looking under the hood. It's usually the first thing a reviewer looks at, and it therefore sets the tone for how the project will be evaluated.
After you graduate, you may never have to write another formal bibliography unless you go to graduate school. But you will probably have to write as a part of your job regardless of the field you enter.
The most important thing to remember is that any information you provide needs to give credit to the original creator. And it's only polite to both the original author and your reader that you indicate where the information originated. At a minimum, you'll always want to supply your readers with an author, a date, and where you found the information you're repeating.
|
It establishes your credibility.
|
Credibility
A good bibliography of respected sources establishes you credibility with the reader. By looking over your bibliography, the reader will decide if the paper or project is worth their attention. If the bibliography only contains websites, the reader can assume he or she could do that without you or your project.
|
|
It highlights your scholarship
|
Scholarship
Your reader may find something you've said particularly interesting. A good bibliography is a service to your reader to help them find the same source of information you used in order to look more deeply into that aspect of your paper. In the case of scientific studies, it's essential to provide the information other scientists would need if they wanted to follow your reasoning or reproduce the study.
|
|
It provides
supporting evidence to back up your assertions
|
Supporting Evidence
By citing the experts on a particular subject, you can be sure the points you make have some serious clout behind them in the form of a recognized authority.
|
|
It Indicates the
depth of research
|
Depth of Research
It's easy to see from the citations in a bibliography if the author put serious thought into the project. Magazines and websites won't carry as much weight as primary sources, and scholarly journals.
|
|
It's a courtesy to the reader.
|
Courtesy
A good bibliography might be just what the reader is looking for. It will have taken you some time to find the best sources. A fellow scholar will appreciate a list of the relevant sources you direct them to.
|
|
It indicates the currency
of your research.
|
Currency
A bibliography will indicate to the reader when the research was done. If the subject is time sensitive, the reader might choose to overlook your research if it is too dated.
|
|
Shows your respect for the recognized standards of the subject discipline you are writing in.
|
Recognized Standards
Different disciplines use different citation styles. For example, scholars writing about literature generally use the MLA [Modern Language Association] format, while social scientists generally use the APA [American Psychological Association] format. A scholar familiar with a particular format will be able to read your bibliography quickly.
Think of a citation as an address:
A. Jones, 123 Main St., Springfield, MA. tells you the name of the street, the number of the house, and the city and state where you will find A. Jones.
If you make a mistake in the address, the mailman may not be able to deliver the letter.
Serious Journal 23(5):1234-1252 tells the reader the article may be found in the journal named Serious Journal, in volume 23, issue number 5, and on the pages 1234 to 1252.
If you make a mistake in the citation, the reader may not be able to find the article you're referring to.
|
|
It demonstrates your
attention to detail.
|
Attention to Detail
There are so many fine points in a bibliography that need to be correct: journal name, date, page numbers, authors, etc... Showing care for these details tells the reader you probably were just as careful with your research. A sloppy bibliography is a key indicator of sloppy research.
|