|
1. Information *
If this is the "Information Age," how should we define and look at information? What makes an intelligent "information user"? [Michael Davidson]
|
2. Get Back! Background Information
There are many ways to go about getting started finding out about a subject we don't know much about. Here is an easy way to get accurate, objective, and reliable information to get you started. The reference collection is huge, how do I find what I need? What can a librarian do for me? It also answers the question, "Where do I go from here?"
[Gary McCool]
|
3. All the News: Newspapers
How do newspaper accounts (both historical and present) fit into research? When is a newspaper useful? How important is it that we look at an issue from many viewpoints?
[Bob Fitzpatrick]
|
|
4. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow: Google and the problems of Ephemera
We know you love Google. So do librarians. How can you be a smart information detective? What are a few of the tricks to finding just what you need on Google? What are some of the things to look out for when gathering information from the Internet? When is it appropriate to use Internet sources for scholarly research?
[Anne Jung-Mathews]
|
5. Books *
Books are often still the best sources for in-depth, reliable, and thorough coverage of most issues. How do you determine the reliability, objectivity, and accuracy of the printed (paper or electronic) word? Do you have to read the entire book? What are the best ways to get what you need out of a book quickly? Do you even have to go to the library to get a book?
[Alice Pearman]
|
6. What’s Scholarly?: Peer-Review and Scholarly Sources on Databases * 
Why is this the gold standard for research? What makes something scholarly? What is the peer review process? How do I find the right database for my subject? Who can help me?
[Christin Wixson]
|
|
Bibliographies: Using Bibliographies and Finding Experts
In addition to what we've looked at in previous units, how do scholars find information? What does ongoing research look like?
[Bob Fitzpatrick]
|
7. Bibliographies and Finding Experts Part 1
 |
7. Bibliographies and Finding Experts Part 2
|